Sreesanth, Bhaichung Lose Elections; India wishes New sports Min

The future of 5 states, at least for the subsequent five years, changed into determined on Thursday, with ‘counting day’ starting early. Mamata Bannerjee’s loyal, Assam’s Congress love, and Kerala’s UDF-ness become on the road as votes had been counted and victors have been declared.


Many names to finish within the losers’ column – a positive former cricketer and a former football captain.

Speaking of losses, India appears to have additionally lost their Union Minister of the kingdom, with Sarbananada Sonowal giving up his old designation to grow to be Assam’s new Chief Minister.

Right here’s the complete lowdown.

Bhaichung Bhutia – Siliguri

finished 2d with 63,982 votes

India’s maximum successful soccer captain Bhaichung Bhutia failed all over again to convert his fulfillment at the soccer vegetables in the form of votes.

Having misplaced the Lok Sabha polls to BJP’s SS Ahluwalia in the 2014 popular Elections, Bhaichung was up towards Siliguri Mayor and former Left the front Minister Ashok Bhattacharya in these meeting Elections from the Siliguri seat.

The Quint stuck up with the 39-year-vintage during his campaign path in April. But, whilst requested why he selected to contest from a TMC seat, his solution becomes simple – “It was the first birthday celebration that approached me.”
Keen on Mamata’s politics, Bhaichung, but appeared he becomes open to a switch, and it can also emerge as a need for the 39-yr-antique if he’s to keep his political dreams alive. A ‘hill face’ on a TMC seat turned into continually going to be a tough challenge, even supposing his opponent did now not come with popularity like Bhattacharya’s.

S Sreesanth – Thiruvananthapuram

finished third with 34,764 votes

Part of the 2011 ICC global Cup prevailing Indian Cricket group, BJP went for the ‘big name aspect while handing a price ticket to Shanthakumaran Sreesanth for his first meeting elections.

Read More Articles :

If the birthday party’s historical lack of guide in Kerala wasn’t a roadblock enough, Sreesanth additionally had to hang to his call a positive ‘match-fixer tag, courtesy of the 2013 IPL controversy concerning him, Ankeet Chavan, and Ajit Chandila. Though the Delhi high courtroom has exonerated him within the matter, his refusal to enchant the BCCI against the lifestyles ban imposed through them nonetheless leaves a huge cloud of doubt over his name.

A doubt which could well have accounted for his defeat.

Laxmi Ratan Shukla – Howrah North

received by 26,959 votes

The only sportsperson who did manage experience at the TMC wave, if you want to see Mamata take oath on the 27 May additionally, is Laxmi Ratan Shukla. He bagged the seat from Howrah North.

A former Indian cricketer (for three matches) who performed IPL for the nearby Kolkata Knight Riders or even received the title in 2012, Shukla retired the remaining yr to make the switch to politics. With veteran actor Roopa Ganguly also vying for the seat, the TMC guy ended up going through competition from Santosh Kumar Pathak of the Congress as an alternative, nevertheless prevailing with a complete of 61,917 votes.